7 days 7 songs #3

So I didn’t write a post last week as I was at Tramlines. I had so much fun, I didn’t see tonnes of music but the bits I did see I really enjoyed, highlights were Mr Scruff, Dizzee Rascal, Kelis and Leon Vynehall. So this is a collection of my favourite songs I’ve been listening to the past two weeks. Comment below and let me know what you think of this week’s choices.

  1. Roy of the Ravers – Emotinium – This is a loooong track but it’s worth listening to all the way through. I wouldn’t say I ordinarily listen to much acid house but I really like this.  
  2. Fool to Love – Nao – I have been following Nao for a while and she has finally released her debut album For All We Know, I love her unique sounding voice and have been a big fan of the singles she’s released. This isn’t a new track as none of her new ones are available on Youtube yet. However her album is gold, a brilliant debut and definitely worth a listen so go check it out! 
  3. It Always Rains – Lukas Nystrand von Unge – This is a fairly new one from Swedish producer Lukas Nystrand von Unge, it’s a really nice disco influenced house track.  
  4. Kiburu’s -Leon Vynehall – This is from Leon Vynehall’s latest album, it’s more dancey than some of his previous works which I really like and I love the hand-drums and the bird sounds in the background, it sounds like it’s been produced in a tropical jungle.  Resident Hope Works DJ’s Lo Shea played this song before Leon Vynehalls set at Tramlines last week and it was really nice to hear it live.
  5. *Sweetz – Zomby & Burial  – I couldn’t decide whether to include this song this week as i’m not sure how I feel about it. I absolutely love Burial and Zomby has a similar sound so I was extremely excited to hear that they were collaborating and I expected huge things. On first listen I wasn’t taken aback but it’s growing on me. It’s every bit as dark, distorted and strange as you would expect a Burial track to be. Unfortunately I can’t embed this video, so click here to listen and tell me what you think!
  6. Could Heaven Ever Be Like This – Idris Muhammad – You may recognise this song as Jamie xx sampled it on his 2015 track Loud Places. It’s a eight minute journey through jazz, disco, funk and soul; beautiful vocals, incredible instrumental. ‘
  7. *Out of My Control – HONNE – HONNE are a London duo described as ‘electronic soul’, they have just released their debut album to mixed reviews but I enjoyed it, it’s smooth, easy listening. There’s a few really strong songs on the album, this is the one i’ve been listening to the most.

 

*New music alert!

Leave a Reply

